Monday Musings

December 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

12.2.13_MM_Just let it go

We all know the saying… “Just let it go.”

Does anyone actually know where that came from? Or is it just a phrase that people say when they aren’t the ones who are actually dealing with ‘it?’
I have super high anxiety. If things don’t go the way I planned them to go, it can sometimes be hard for me to think quickly and reanalyze the situation. I believe that I have gotten much better than I have in the past but sometimes I just need to walk away.

The holidays are a prime time for my anxiety to kick into high gear. I make lists upon lists that are there to help me prepare for anything that can go wrong but there are things you just can’t predict.

Thanksgiving dinner went off without a hitch, I was actually so proud of myself. It was a comment someone had made after dinner that I had not prepared for that threw me off my game. A question was asked and when I answered, they said a very judgmental comment that made me defensive and upset. My anxiety was in high gear. I just said that I did not want to talk about it any further and moved on from the situation. Everyone seemed to have moved on but I could not get the comment out of my head. I did the dishes, cleaned the kitchen, raked the driveway and finally realized I just needed to let it go.

It’s exhausting to be mad. There are only so many things you can be prepared for and at the end of the day if you don’t let some of those things go, you’ll deplete yourself. Taking time out for myself to think about the situation and realize that it wasn’t worth it, helped me let the comment go. Sometimes it’s not so easy… What are your tips and tricks for ‘Just letting things go?’

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Monday Musings at poppies and pretty.

meta

