caprese salad

August 1, 2012 § 1 Comment

I first tried insalata caprese when I was in Italy last summer and it instantly turned into a favorite of mine. I couldn’t believe I had been missing out on this dish my entire life. It is considered a “starter” dish, but I love to eat it as a quick meal or light side dish throughout the summer. We have a plethora of small tomatoes from our garden and since Z and I leave next week for a while, a caprese salad was a great way to use a bunch all at once.


I like to use the small mozzarella balls when using small tomatoes… But you can also slice up “big” tomatoes and use fresh sliced mozzarella (shown here).
Always use fresh basil, it makes a difference (I promise).

Slice tomatoes in half.

Put into a bowl (or container, since I was on the go) and add fresh basil.

Add as much mozzarella as desired (I usually add about a large spoonful).

Finish it up with about a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

I made this as a single portion, and it was the perfect snack while I was at work.

§ One Response to caprese salad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading caprese salad at poppies and pretty.

meta

